Issues

Issues are tasks related to a project. Issue types are separated tasks for different kind of work. Administrators can manage default settings for Issues, such as default Priorities, default Statuses, Workflows etc.

Types

Click on the ‘Issues tab on the top of the 'Settings' page, and click on 'Types' in the left-side menu. The list is an overview of all available Issue types. There are 7 default Issue types in the list with a brief description below each of them.

Statuses

Click on 'Statuses' in the left-side menu. These settings are related to the lifecycle of Issues. Statuses represent the state Issue that has been worked on. If an Issue is created, it is in 'New' Status by default. When the work on an Issues is done and completed, its Status could be updated to 'Closed'.


 

Getting started, there are default Statuses that you can already use, or edit by the needs of your organization.

  1. Choose 'Statuses' in the left side menu. There is a list of Statuses available by the Issues. The list shows the Status name, description and the color of the status.
    The 'Closed' column indicates if the Status could be used to close Issues.
    The 'Default' column indicates the default Status. When a new Issues has been created, the default Status is set automatically for it. Only one default Status can be set at once.
     
  2. To add a new Status, please click on the '+Add Status' button.
    In the 'Add Status' window, type in a name for the new Status.
    Choose a color for the Status.
    You can choose if the new Status is closing the Issue by ticking the check box.
    Optionally, add a description.
    Click on the 'Add', and the new Status will appear in the list.
     
  3. To edit a status, simply click 'Edit'. In the ‘Edit Status’ window, update the data fields and click 'Update'.
  4. To set a Status as default for every new Issue, click on the https://documentation.qmswrapper.com/sites/default/files/how%20to%20files/Getting%20Started%20as%20an%20Administrator/getting%20started%20as%20and%20administrator%20-%20admin%20settings%20-%20projects%20-%20show%20subprojects%20button.png button next to the Status, and choose 'Set as default'.
  5. To delete a Status, click the https://documentation.qmswrapper.com/sites/default/files/how%20to%20files/Getting%20Started%20as%20an%20Administrator/getting%20started%20as%20and%20administrator%20-%20admin%20settings%20-%20projects%20-%20show%20subprojects%20button.png button, and choose 'Delete'.

For example, let's create a new Status which will close the Issue. Let's name it 'Duplicate', which will close duplicated Issues.

  1. On the 'Statuses' page, click on '+ Add Status'.
  2. In the 'Add Status' window, type in 'Duplicate' for Status name and tick the 'close' check box. Click 'Add'.


     
  3. Set the Workflow for the newly added Status. Here, you can set which project members with which Project Role can set this Status, and from which Statuses you can set to 'Duplicate'. Click on 'Workflow' in the left side menu 
  4. On the 'Workflows' page, click on 'Edit Workflows' button next to the Issue type that can have the 'Duplicate' Status. In our example, we will select 'Bug' type Issue.


     
  5. On the 'Workflows: Bug' page, choose the Project Role (PTO, Manager, Developer, Reporter) which will have permission to set the Status to 'Duplicate' and click on the 'Edit' button next to that Role. In the case you want to set the Workflow for every Project Role, you will have to do it for each one separately. In our example, we are going to set the Bug Workflow for the Manager Role.


     
  6. When you create a Bug or any other type of Issue, its Status is 'New' by default. So, the first thing is that you have to make it available to update the Status from 'New' to 'Duplicate'.
    On the 'Edit Workflow: Manager (Bug)' page, look for 'New' Status, and click 'Edit'.


     
  7. In the 'Edit destination' window, you can view which Statuses can be set from 'New' ('In Progress', 'Resolved', 'Feedback', etc.). Please click on the select list, scroll down and select 'Duplicate'. Click 'Update'.
  8. When done, only the project members with the defined Role (Manager) will be able to change the Status from 'New' to 'Duplicate' by the defined type of Issue (Bug). You can make these settings for every type of issue for every type of project role and for each type of status.

Priorities

The Priority indicates the importance of an Issue and what impact it has on the project. Issues with the highest priority have the highest impact on the progress of the project.


 

Getting started, there are default Priorities already that you can use, or edit by the needs of your company.

  1. Click on 'Priorities' in the left side menu. There is a list of all available Priorities. The list shows the name, description and color of the Priority. The 'Default' column indicates the default Priority. When a new Issues has been created, the default Priority is set automatically for it.


     
  2. To add a new priority, choose '+Add Priority'.
    In the 'Add Priority' window, please type in a name for the new Priority.
    Choose a color for the Priority.
    Optionally, add a description Click Add, and the priority will appear in the list.
  3. To edit a Priority, click 'Edit'. In the ‘Edit Priority’ window, update the data fields and click 'Update'.
  4. To set a default Priority for every new Issue, click on the https://documentation.qmswrapper.com/sites/default/files/how%20to%20files/Getting%20Started%20as%20an%20Administrator/getting%20started%20as%20and%20administrator%20-%20admin%20settings%20-%20projects%20-%20show%20subprojects%20button.png button next to the Priority and choose 'Set as default'.
  5. To delete a Priority, click on the https://documentation.qmswrapper.com/sites/default/files/how%20to%20files/Getting%20Started%20as%20an%20Administrator/getting%20started%20as%20and%20administrator%20-%20admin%20settings%20-%20projects%20-%20show%20subprojects%20button.png button, and choose 'Delete'.

Workflows

Issues have a lifecycle from being created to being closed. The lifecycle of an Issue is managed by its Workflow. A Workflow includes transitions (i.e. Start Statuses and Destination Statuses).

Getting started, there are default Workflows already that you can use and edit.

  1. Click on 'Workflows' in the left side menu. On the 'Workflows' page, you can view the list of 'Issue types with workflows', and below another list of 'Issue types without workflows'. The list shows the Issue type and the description of the issue type. To add a Workflow to an Issue type, click 'Edit Workflows'. In our example, we are going to edit the Workflow of the Task type Issue.



    On the 'Workflows: Task' page, select a Project Role that will be able to use the Workflow on Issues of Task type. Click on 'Edit'. In our example, we are going to select Manager.



    If there is no Workflow yet, you will have to add them one by one. Please select a Role.



    On the next page, click on '+Add Workflow'.
    In the ‘Add workflow’ window, select the Role you want to assign the workflow to.
    Select a Start Status and Destination Statuses. You can choose multiple or all Statuses by choosing 'Select all'.
    Click on Add, and the Workflow will show up in the window. The Workflow shows the role name and the number of Destination statuses in parentheses.
     
  2. To add more Transitions (Start Status and Destination Statuses) to the Workflow, please click on 'Workflows' in the left side menu. On the 'Workflows' page, select the Issue type and click on 'Edit Workflows'.
    Click 'Edit' or double-click on the Role.
    Click on 'Edit', then on '+Add transition'.



    In the 'Add transition' window, please select a Start Status and Destination Statuses. Click on Add.
     
  3. To edit Workflows, please click on 'Workflows' in the left side menu. On the 'Workflows' page, select the Issue type and click on 'Edit Workflows'.
    Click 'Edit' or double-click on the Role.
    Click 'Edit' or double-click on the Transition.
    In the Edit destination window, select Destination Statuses and click Update.
     
  4. To delete a Transition, click Delete and confirm.